Reporting Fundamentals - New Jersey New Hire Reporting Center
Contact UsEspanol
(877) 654-4737

Reporting Fundamentals

Electronic Reporting: The fastest, easiest way to report, save time, save money...report electronically! We can help you.

Multistate Reporting: Doing business with employees in more than one state? Learn about important options and how to meet your reporting requirements.

Why is new hire reporting required?

Employers play a pivotal role in helping New Jersey’s children receive the support they need. Children who do not receive court ordered financial support from a parent often are required to depend on public assistance programs or live in poverty. By complying with the requirements of the new hire reporting law, you will help children receive support to which they are entitled.

In 1996, Congress enacted a law called the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act, or PRWORA, as part of Welfare Reform. This legislation created the requirement for employers in all 50 states to report their new hires and re-hires to a state directory.

New hire reporting speeds up the child support income withholding order process, expedites collection of child support from parents who change jobs frequently, and quickly locates non-custodial parents to help in establishing paternity and child support orders. New hire reporting helps children receive the support they deserve. Employers serve as key partners in ensuring financial stability for many children and families and should take pride in their role.

For more information on this law, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions.

Back to Top

Who is required to report?

Under New Jersey Statutes Annotated 2A:17-56.61 and the Federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) all public, private, non-profit, and government employers are required to report the following individuals:

Payroll companies who contract with employers to report New Hire information will be held to the same standards as individual employers.

Failure to report a new employee could result in a fine up to $25 per violation.

Back to Top

What do I have to report?

Required Employee Information

Required Employer Information

Employee's Full Name
(please identify first, middle, and last name)

Employer's Name (please use corporate name)

Employee's Address

Employer's Address (please provide address where Income Withholding Orders should be sent)

Employee's Social Security Number

Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). If you have more than one FEIN, please make certain you use the same FEIN you use to report your quarterly wage information when reporting new hires.

Employee's Date of Birth

 

Employee's Date of Hire

Date of Hire is defined in the amends section 453A of the Social Security Act, effective June 8, 2011, as;
"The date services for remuneration were first performed by the employee".


Optional Employee Information

Optional Employer Information

Employee's Availability of Medical Benefits

Employer's Phone #

 

Employer's Fax #

 

Employer's Email Address

 

Employer Contact Name

View questions about Multistate employers.

Back to Top

When do I have to report?

N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.61 requires all employers to submit their new hire reports within 20 days after the employee is hired or re-hired or returns to work. Employers who submit reports magnetically or electronically shall submit the reports in two monthly transmissions (if you have employees to report), 12 to 16 days apart.

Back to Top

How do I report new hires?

The New Jersey New Hire Reporting Center offers many options that make it easy for employers to report new hires. Regardless of which method is used, all required information as listed above must be included. The options available are listed below.

Electronic Reporting

Back to Top

Non-Electronic Reporting

Back to Top

Other Reporting Methods

Back to Top

Where do I report new hires?

Electronic Reports - Utilizing our Web site's online reporting feature is a very popular option for employers. This feature provides printable confirmation of reports received, and is conveniently available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Employers can send new hire data files in a variety of ways, including transferring files through this Web site, through internet connection using File Transfer Protocol (FTP) or mail reports to us. Learn more about electronic reporting.

Non-Electronic Reports - Paper new hire reports may either be faxed or mailed to our New Hire Reporting Center.

Mail Reports To:
New Jersey New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 4654
Trenton, NJ 08650

Fax Reports To:
Toll-free: (800) 304-4901

Please call the New Jersey New Hire Reporting Center toll-free at (877) 654-4737 for any questions regarding the new hire reporting process. Our help desk staff are available to answer your questions Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM EST.

Back to Top


P.O. Box 4654 Trenton, NJ 08650 | Phone (877) 654-4737 | Fax (800) 304-4901
© 2009-2017 New Jersey New Hire Reporting Center. Site design by Stellarware